top of page

HEX Ranger Blackout Camo DSLR Sling V2

We got to test out the HEX Ranger DSLR Sling V2 bag for a few months now. First of all, love the new Blackout Camo pattern. It's subtle but yet still tactical. The sling bag is aggressive looking but soft and protective of your equipment. It's on the larger size for a sling bag. This is meant for DSLR cameras so it does need the size to accommodate. And it can definitely accommodate. I'm able to fit all my essentials to do outdoor shoots. I did a 5 mile hike to a shoot location with the Range bag. I was able to pack my full size carbon tripod, camera, GoPro, water bottle, etc. I have the full list of items below. With the bag fully packed, I thought for sure my shoulder would be killing me. Surprisingly the weight of it didn't bother me during the hike. I'm really happy I don't have to carry my bulky camera backpack when I do my outdoor shoots now.


The Ranger got lots of different compartments that can separate out different items. The top flap has a zippered pocket so you can keep your cables or extra memory cards easier to find and out of the way. The front organizer keeps battery packs, extra camera batteries or any smaller items in place. The dividers allows you to customize the spacing between your camera and an extra lens.


One of the simplest and most essential feature the Ranger has is that it comes with a rainfly. So many backpack companies don't include such a simple and effective feature. Sometimes I travel to Asia and during the monsoon season, it's no joke that when it pours, it POURS! Having a convenient rainfly to cover your bag and equipment is a winner to me.


Whether I'm doing indoor or outdoor events, and I want to carry light, the HEX Ranger is my go to bag now. The convenience of a sling bag that I can easily swing the bag around to access my camera or other equipment is perfect. The extra padding and layers the Ranger has make me feel confident my equipment is secure and protected. The style and color pattern - two thumbs up. The only personal problem I have with it is that I have to remove my bulky battery grip and strap in order to fit into the bag. But that's not a big issue or a deal breaker. Technically I can separate the lens and body so both will fit in. But that defeats the purpose of using a sling bag for quick access. Also to note, my problem is true for all the camera backpacks I've tested.


If you're looking for convenience and light weight, the HEX Ranger is an excellent choice. It's perfect for day trips, travel, hiking, or events. Once convention season starts up again, I'll surely be using the Ranger more often.





As far as equipment, I'm still amazed of how much gadgets will fit into the HEX Ranger. I was able to fit all these:

  • Canon 5D DSLR camera.

  • Canon battery.

  • Canon 24-70m L Lens.

  • Canon 50mm Lens.

  • GoPro Session 5.

  • GoPro remote.

  • DJI Osmo Pocket.

  • 2 sets of AA 4 pack.

  • LumeCube.

  • Litra LitraTorch 2.0.

  • myCharge power bank.

  • Coast Flashlight.

  • Hydaway Collapsible Water Bottle.

  • NiteIze S-Biner.

  • Manfrotto Mini Tripod.

  • Vanguard Carbon Fiber 5' Tripod.

  • Pair of sunglasses.

  • Apple iPad Mini (forgot to take it out of the zippered compartment).







FEATURES

V2 Upgrades:

  • Hideaway Rain Fly

  • Double buckle strap for more sizing

  • Increased padding on top lid and shoulder pad

  • Water resistant genuine Cordura® with Antimicrobial technology

  • Compact, lightweight sling to carry your DSLR essentials

  • Collapsible interior dividers for packability

  • Front access organizer

  • Side adjustable load straps

  • Faux-fur lined front phone/sunglasses pocket

  • Hidden velcro stash pockets

  • Flush grab handle

  • Faux-fur lined tablet pocket

  • Adjustable bottom carry straps

  • YKK Zippers with metal pulls

  • Dimensions: 14.5"L x 7.5"W x 4.75"D

  • Weight: 1.3lbs

  • Capacity: 8L

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page